March CSFF Blog Tour, Day 1: The Resurrection, by Mike Duran

Stonetree is a sleepy little town on the California coast, not far from San Francisco. Maybe it’s a little too sleepy. At least that’s what Ruby Case and her prayer partners think. They’ve been meeting together for months, trying to breathe a little Holy Spirit into their moribund church and indifferent pastor.

One day, Ruby attends a funeral for the son of a coworker. As she passes by the coffin to pay her respects, she touches the boy’s shoulder.

He sits up.

Armando Amaya has risen from the dead, and it seems to be Ruby’s fault. You’d think a miracle of this stature would be cause for celebration. Well, not so much. Hell breaks loose in Stonetree, and that’s not merely a figure of speech. Why is this nondescript town, well past its prime, suddenly the focus of bizarre paranormal activity?

Maybe it’s the curs-ed oak at the top of the mountain overlooking Stonetree.

Maybe it’s the row of little shops in the middle of town selling dried up weeds and sunflower seeds and astrological postcards.

Maybe it’s because this isn’t the first time there’s been a resurrection in Stonetree.

Or, maybe it has something to do with the grotesque apparition that regularly visits the pastor’s study.

In the immortal words of Bugs Bunny, “Ehhh, could be.”

Mike Duran’s The Resurrection is a supernatural thriller in the tradition of Stephen King and Frank Peretti, and there may even be a little H.P. Lovecraft in the mix. These kinds of stories aren’t usually my cup of tea, but I thought it was a pretty good read. There were a few elements of the story that bothered me, but I’ll get into that tomorrow with my review.

In the meantime, please stop by the other fine sites on this month’s Tour. If you stay clear of the old cemetery, you should be just fine.

Purchase The Resurrection

Mike Duran’s Website

The CSFF Blog Tour:

Noah Arsenault
Brandon Barr
Red Bissell
Book Reviews By Molly
Keanan Brand
Kathy Brasby
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
Melissa Carswell
Jeff Chapman
Christian Fiction Book Reviews
Carol Bruce Collett
Valerie Comer
Karri Compton
Wanda Costinak
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Janey DeMeo
Cynthia Dyer
Tori Greene
Nikole Hahn
Katie Hart
Joleen Howell
Bruce Hennigan
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Emily LaVigne
Shannon McNear
Matt Mikalatos
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Mirtika
Joan Nienhuis
Nissa
John W. Otte
Gavin Patchett
Sarah Sawyer
Andrea Schultz
Tammy Shelnut
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Dave Wilson

>>This review is based upon a copy of the book provided to me free of charge by the publisher, a courtesy I appreciate, but which does not guarantee my recommendation. I strive to evaluate every book I review purely on its intrinsic merits.<<

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “March CSFF Blog Tour, Day 1: The Resurrection, by Mike Duran

  1. Thanks for stopping by, ladies. I can’t help but enjoy any book that gives me the opportunity to use the phrase, “dried up weeds and sunflower seeds and astrological postcards” in a blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s