The Next Big Thing

I hate “memes.”

All it takes to catch me is electronic contact!
I’m contagious! Share me with all your friends!

If you’re unfamiliar with the concept in its social networking application, somebody posts a survey, a cute cat picture in need of a clever caption, or some other random bandwagon they want people to jump onto, then they coerce guilt blackmail invite some of their online acquaintances into doing the same thing and then coercing guilting, blackmailing inviting their friends, and so on.

The whole thing becomes a pyramid schemeย circular firing squadย annoying chain letter. By the time you’re tagged, the virus has already been through about five iterations, everyone in your circle of friends will have been tagged at least three times to play this little game, and anybody who sees the subject line on your blog will flee, screaming, to icanhaz.cheezburger.com.

Ahem.

Hi! I'm an infectious agent! Let's party!
I’m the gift that keeps on giving!

However, my friend and fellow Kansan Lyn Perry, whom I greatly respect, tagged me on this one. So, I’ll play ball, though I think this is the sort of meme that will propagate quite nicely, thank you, without any further help from me. I’ll let the contagion pass itself along to the next victim. Writers tend to self-promote without prompting, anyhow.

(This is starting to feel a little snarky and mean-spirited, but in the spirit of full disclosure, I’m having a bit of a domestic spat right now with my current Works in Progress, so asking me about their status will get you the same response Lou Costello gets when he asks somebody about the Susquehanna Hat Company. My apologies.)

THE NEXT BIG THING

1) What is the title of your next book/work?

There are two, actually. I have no idea which one will emerge first from the oubliette of my Works in Progress folder. I’m not satisfied with either title and would rather not reveal one that is half-baked.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book/work?

Tell me, where is fancy bred? In the heart, or in the head?

3) What genre does your book/work fall under?

I resist all attempts to categorize my work under something so crass as a “genre,” and I hope they will rise, not fall.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

My opening bid would be for the original Broadway cast of Les Miserables. Failing that, perhaps The Doodlebops.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Shallow but plucky hobbit hero/heroine sets off on an adventure and after many hazards and challenges returns to the Shire home with added complexity and depth.

Did I mention I'm an infectious agent?
Did I mention I’m an infectious agent?

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

A self-publisher has a fool for a client. Oh, wait…that’s self-lawyering. Agency…let me think…no. Hmm. I’ll take Door Number Three—FYI, meme-creator, there is also such a thing as a small, independent press.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

That would imply I’ve finished the first draft, wouldn’t it?

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

There’s that nasty g-word again.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

God, I hope. Otherwise, I’m in big trouble.

I'm the gift that keeps on giving!
I’m a meme, he’s a meme, she’s a meme, they’re a meme, wouldn’t you like to be a meme too?

10) What else about the book might pique the readerโ€™s interest?

I expect the gratuitous sex and gore could cause a stir.

Just kidding!

Maybe.

4 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. I’m glad this hit the right note with you, Lisa. Some people really enjoy memes, which is perfectly fine, if incomprehensible, so I didn’t want to cross the line from parody into ridicule.

Leave a Reply

