Tagged

I got tagged a couple of times last week by blogging/writing acquaintances Nissa Annakindt and Justin Williams. Nissa’s even came with a cool sign that proves somebody enjoys my blog. It works sort of like a chain letter, but without the dire mystical repercussions if you fail to comply. Having been tagged, I’m supposed to answer a few questions and then tag a few other people.

It would be poor form not to play along, at least a little bit. In the interest of time and space conservation, I’ll do one today, and another tomorrow.

Justin’s tag goes like this:

The Tag rules: 1. You must post the rules! 2. Answer the questions and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged. 3. Tag seven (because it’s a magical number) people and link to them. 4. Let them know you’ve tagged them.

Okay, rules posted…check. Answer the questions…well, I’ll post them all and answer those which strike my fancy. Create eleven new questions…surely you jest, sir! Well, I’ll give it a shot. Tag seven people

Seven? now I’m starting to feel like a spam cannon, and to be perfectly honest, I lost my sense of magic when Harry Potter was snubbed at the Oscars, where I learned that true genius, harrumph, must needs be silent and monochrome…good grief, it’s like that Powerpuff Girls episode when the evil mime sucked all the color out of Townsville, and he could only be stopped by ’60’s music, and come on, what is it with Hollywood and French anything, I mean, I can still remember when they were falling all over Gerard Depardieu, and it’s not like you can’t find a decent baguette right there in Los Angeles, and even Disney Pixar Disney-Pixar is making movies about French rats that cook, which, when you think about it, speaks volumes about the quality of “haute cuisine,” and what does that even mean…er…

I’ve been babbling, haven’t I? Sorry. Where was I?

Oh, yes, tag-ees. Maybe three. I will certainly link to them and advise them they’ve been infected tagged. On to the questions:

1. How many books did you read last year? What was your favorite genre?

Foul! Foul, I say! That’s two questions. Next!

2. Which popular genre have you tried and tried but can never really get into?

Amish romance. Perhaps good for thee, but not for me.

3. Which literary character is most like your ideal spouse? Which is most like your actual spouse /  significant other? Why?

That’s three questions, but I was looking the other way and didn’t actually see them committed. Anyhow, no literary character can approach the pinnacle of awe and mystery that is my lovely wife.

4. Besides writing and reading, what is your favorite pastime?

What is this pastime of which you speak? Hanging With Friends occupies much of my free time these days.

5. If you could play God and change one thing about the world, what would it be? Limitation: you can’t mess with free agency.

That’s too bad, because I think free agency is the bane of professional athletics. I have no desire to play God, but I think a world free of partisan politics would be an improvement.

6. Which writer’s conferences have you attended? If you had unlimited time and money, which conferences would you attend? You’re on a talk show, talking about your newest bestseller. The host announces a surprise guest: the author you’ve always been inspired by, but have never met. Who comes out on stage? What is your reaction?

That’s a total of five fouls now, which sends you to the bench, Sparky. Next questioner.

7. If you could design the cover for your WIP, what would it look like?

It’s already designed. It’s similar to this, but the color, and, of course, the title, are different.

8. Which literary villain scared you the most? 

That would be the editorial staff of Clarkesworld Magazine.

9. Pantser or outliner?

I’ve never pantsed anybody. I prefer highlighter to outliner.

10. Which one of your characters would most benefit the world, if made real?

Hmm. Perhaps the Elder from my short story, “Rubes,” which you can find in my recent anthology, Odd Little Miracles.

11. Plotter or Panster?

Didn’t I just answer that? Maybe not. I’ve never been a big fan of Pan, more of a James Hook man, myself. I used to have a plot, but my current backyard is too small to permit one.

12. Who is your fave character and why?

We’re past 11 questions, but I’m having a good time, so I’ll keep going. That’s like asking me which of my children I love the most. All of them. Because.

13. Name 2 things within arms reach.

An apple core and a stapler. Make of that what you will.

14. Date with a celebrity, who would you pick?

Reference Question 3 above.

15. What is your fave song?

Probably the Oompa-Loompa song from the original Willy Wonka movie. 

16. What genre do you write in?

Science fiction, fantasy, and a bit of horror.

17. Coolest thing you’ve ever done?

Stepped across the border between North and South Korea at Panmunjom, and back again. It was like living the entire Korean War in two seconds.

18. Coolest place you’ve ever been?

Grand Forks, North Dakota. Wind chills below minus 50 degrees, now and again.

19. Favorite quote?

Too many to count. Here’s a good one from Mark Twain: “It is better to deserve honors and not have them than to have them and not to deserve them.

Okay, here are the questions with which I’ll harass my tag-ees:

1. Ginger, or Mary Ann? (For the ladies: Archie, or Jughead?)

2. Justify your existence in fifty words or less.

3. Name your favorite Doctor.

4. Share one item from your bucket list.

5. If your writing was a dessert, what sort of dessert would it be?

6. State your position on extraterrestrial life, sasquatch, or Atlantis. Your choice.

7. Name an author you simultaneously admire and detest. If you can provide a rationale, so much the better.

8. What most inspires you to write?

9. Name the entree of your last restaurant meal.

10. Offer a memorable quote from one of your novels, short stories, essays, or blog posts.

11. What’s the next book on your “to read” list?

My three tags go to authors with new novels and short stories published this month. Check ’em out: John W. Otte, Lyn Perry, and Diane M. Graham.

6 thoughts on “Tagged

    1. Yeah, some commenters feel the need to critique everything. This is not an Amazon Review! The snarky people are almost always anonymous and just shows they don’t know what they’re talking about. I seldom submit to EDF for this reason, they need a moderator on the comments or should change their system, imo.

Leave a Reply

