October CSFF Blog Tour Day 2: The Bone House, by Stephen R. Lawhead

As I continue to wend my way through The Skin Map and The Bone House, I find myself enjoying Mr. Lawhead’s Omniverse more and more. From the loving attention to details of environment and culture to the memorable characters who are simultaneously ordinary and extraordinary, to the easy and natural banter among those characters that overcomes obstacles of time and language without feeling artificial or contrived, the author’s mastery is clear. These stories are a pleasure to read.

Above all, there’s a joyful sense of adventure–we’re never quite sure what’s waiting at the other end of the next ley line, or even around the next street corner, and that’s all part of the fun, even though there’s serious danger lurking in the background. The plot weaves together several threads from several different points-of-view, much as the ley lines that are so crucial to the story twist and turn about each other, sometimes intersecting, sometimes plunging away in new and unexpected directions.  This can be disorienting for the reader and demands a certain degree of focus and attention to small details, but it’s perfectly appropriate for this venue, and I enjoy it. The structure also gives the major characters a chance to shine in their own spotlight, and we get to know them much better, I think, than if the narrative was more linear and restricted to a single point-of-view.

I may not get through The Bone House by tomorrow, but I think I’ll have enough to at least share a few first impressions and some opinions about how the series is progressing. Until then, please enjoy the plenitude of perspicuous punditry provided by my partners in this month’s Tour:

Noah Arsenault
Red Bissell
Thomas Clayton Booher
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
CSFF Blog Tour
Jeff Chapman
Carol Bruce Collett
Karri Compton
D. G. D. Davidson
Theresa Dunlap
April Erwin
Victor Gentile
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Timothy Hicks
Christopher Hopper
Janeen Ippolito
Becca Johnson
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Marzabeth
Katie McCurdy
Shannon McDermott
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Joan Nienhuis
Chawna Schroeder
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Rachel Starr Thomson
Robert Treskillard
Steve Trower
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Rachel Wyant

Stephen R. Lawhead’s Author Website

Purchase The Bone House

>>This review is based upon a copy of the book provided to me free of charge by the publisher, a courtesy I appreciate, but which does not guarantee my recommendation. I strive to evaluate every book I review purely on its intrinsic merits.<<

3 thoughts on “October CSFF Blog Tour Day 2: The Bone House, by Stephen R. Lawhead

  1. “Until then, please enjoy the plenitude of perspicuous punditry provided by my partners in this month’s Tour”

    I’m also enjoying the auspicious alliteration ably applied to this appropriate accolade. 😉

  2. Heheh — Jason, that’s the line I was going to comment on too. That’s the Fred we’ve grown to know and love! 😉

    I always appreciate your perspective on the books we read, too, Fred. Great post. And an admirable effort to tackle both these books in such a short amount of time!

    Becky

Leave a Reply

