New Story Online: “Promises,” in Big Pulp

Big Pulp recently posted most of the short stories from its Summer/Fall 2011 print issue for free online reading, including my superhero romance, “Promises.” Check it out! If you like it, let me know. If you don’t…well, let me know about that, too. It’s set up on two separate pages, look for the link to page 2 at the bottom of page 1.

Her face was mature now, the familiar childish features perfected. Her skin was radiant, clear and smooth, framed by glossy auburn hair bobbed to her jawline. Her brilliant blue eyes were the ones I’d always known, but they never met mine precisely—she seemed preoccupied with some point on the horizon, just over my shoulder, as if she was seeing her future in the distance or scanning for a threat I couldn’t see or hear.

I wasn’t sure what to say at first—how do you talk to a girl who’s been gone for five years, then comes back a goddess? I tossed a few half-baked jokes about old chorus line dancers, and battle bikinis, and not forgetting about the little people. It was lame and awkward. She took it all in stride, her laughter a gentle, musical sound that set me at ease and brought all the old memories rushing back.

Far too soon, it was time for her to go. We strolled back to the square, hand-in-hand, like two ordinary teenagers, and as we parted, she gave me a platinum disc embossed with her rocket insignia, a tiny button at the center. “If you ever need saving,” she said, “just press the button, and I’ll be there, faster than you can imagine.”

“Girls can’t save boys, remember?”

She smiled, but her eyes were moist. “I remember, but it’s even less true now. Call me, and I will save you. I promise. That’s what friends do for each other.”

2 thoughts on “New Story Online: “Promises,” in Big Pulp

  1. Aww, that was such a sweet story. Grats on it getting published! Of course, it left me wondering at the end, but I suppose that’s what short stories are supposed to do.

Leave a Reply

