April CSFF Blog Tour Day 3: The Strange Man, by Greg Mitchell

I apologize for the lateness of my Day 3 post, but as I mentioned yesterday, I’m on a work trip and am dealing with things like jet lag, rental cars, hotel reservations, and ordering food in a foreign language.

I am a stranger in a strange land. Fortunately, there’s a universal language that includes phrases like, “Combo Number Two,” and “Coca Cola,” and “Extra Ketchup.”

Onward! Here are some interesting reactions to Greg Mitchell’s Christian Paranormal Horror Thriller Adventure, The Strange Man, from CSFF Blog Tour members:

They Go Together Like a Horse and Carriage: Grace Bridges and Rebecca Miller were inspired to do some cross-genre musing.

Grace: “…what can contemporary horror have in common with classic sci-fi? Yet the fact remains that I happened to be reading Fahrenheit 451 at the same time, and each time my hand hovered over the two, I wanted to choose Greg’s because it reads clearer. I’m sure Mr. Bradbury would have something to say about that.”

Yes, Ms. Bridges, I’m sure he would…from beyond the grave! Muhahahaha!

It's a horse-drawn cart of evil!

Rebecca: (speaking about Realms, publisher of The Strange Man) “Now this fiction arm of Charisma House focuses on inspirational stories, specifically an unlikely pair: supernatural thrillers and prairie romances.”

Maybe I’m just…strange…but I always thought prairie romances were a sub-genre of supernatural thriller. And what a missed opportunity! Mr. Mitchell could have set his story in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, and produced a groundbreaking crossover novel. Ah, well, if wishes were fishes, we’d all cast nets.

I’m Your Boogieman, That’s What I Am: Beckie Burnham provides some helpful background information on the Bogeyman, Boogeyman, Boogieman, or whatever, and asks an interesting question: “Do parents actually need to invent terrifying creatures to get their kids to behave?  Isn’t real life scary enough without making a child afraid to go to bed?  I thought it was a parent’s job to help their children feel safe and secure.”

Oh, you’re a better parent than I am, Ms. Burnham. I find terrifying folklore to be a very effective method of reinforcing my parental authority.

Not the demon we're talking about.

He’s a Demon, and He’s Gonna be Chasin’ After Someone: Amber French doesn’t like books about demons, but thought The Strange Man was pretty good, though a darker story than she’d normally choose. I’m not a huge fan of “spiritual warfare” stories myself because of the way they usually depict our battle against the forces of evil. There’s a lot of physical confrontation and paranormal special effects, which makes for exciting fiction, but the conflict in real life much more often is against subtle influences that corrupt our souls. Satan wants to destroy our relationship with God. Killing the body…not so much.

One of these days, I’d like to see a spiritual warfare story in which the hero or heroine battles gluttony, or envy, or gossip, but I doubt anybody would buy it.

That’s all I’ve got for this month. I hope you’ll come back to the CSFF Blog Tour next month, when we’ll be reviewing the eagerly-anticipated conclusion to Jeffrey Overstreet’s Auralia’s Thread series, The Ale Boy’s Feast. Sounds yummy.

Greg Mitchell’s web site –  http://thecomingevil.blogspot.com/

Noah Arsenault
Red Bissell
Kathy Brasby
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
CSFF Blog Tour
Amber French
Tori Greene
Katie Hart
Bruce Hennigan
Timothy Hicks
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Inae Kyo
Emily LaVigne
Shannon McDermott
Matt Mikalatos
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Gavin Patchett
Andrea Schultz
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler

Leave a Reply

