What’s Going On, 1/28/2011

My next Weekly Weimaraner picture is on the other computer, so that will have to wait.

What’s going on? Much too much.

Writing

"Fred chop!"

– Still editing my draft of The Seer, sequel to The Muse. I find myself in the unusual and confusing position of having to add material rather than chop it away like a demented butcher.

– Four short stories in the works. One 3/4 finished, one drafted and in need of serious revision, two in the idea stage, but they’re really cool ideas I’d love to jump into.

Must…finish…stories…before…starting…new…ones.

– An interview coming up on February 11 at Christian Review of Books. I need to answer the interview questions and send them off this weekend.

– Reviewing another spec-fic anthology for ResAliens, which is fun, but takes a while when you’re talking about 20+ different stories.

Wascally Wapscallions.

– Proofreading some stories for Splashdown Books, which is multiplying its line of novels like a burrow of fuzzy little bunnies. Get the latest info on new releases here.

Reading

– Far, far behind on my reading list. I need to finish Donita K. Paul’s Dragons of the Valley and Brian Davis’ Masters and Slayers, both of which I owe proper reviews, then read Aliette de Bodard’s Servant of the Underworld and Jonathan Rogers’ The Charlatan’s Boy. Oh, and I can’t forget next month’s CSFF Blog Tour selection, The God Hater, by Bill Myers.

Real Life

– Traveling season for work begins next month and continues, with a couple of pauses, through September.

– Went skiing with the Elder Son last weekend at The Snow Cone Snow Creek, a modest little hill northeast of Leavenworth, Kansas, and about an hour away from us. There was fresh snow and not too much ice. We put in a lot of runs. I used my old skis, which are definitely old-school and required some technique adjustments after skiing with modern gear in Colorado a couple of months ago. Had a great time once I figured it out.

– Still helping out the Darling Daughter’s FIRST Robotics Team with their award submissions. You haven’t lived until you’ve been in a room with seven or eight teenagers simultaneously editing the same paper on Google Docs. Their robot is rapidly coming together, and I hope to have some pictures soon.

– The Darling Daughter tripped over the Weekly Weimaraner this week and hurt her elbow. The WW was uninjured. Doesn’t seem too serious, but her arm’s in a sling…her right arm, which complicates schoolwork, her preparation for track season, and other things… “No problem. I can drive one-handed.” Mm-hmm.

– My Lovely Wife is progressing slowly toward her National Board Certification, which, in my opinion, is one of the most impenetrable Gordian Knots of federal bureaucratic red tape imaginable, with arsenic sauce on top. It’s evolving from a “nice-to-have” for teachers to a “must-have.” I offer such support as I can. Displaying her usual saintly patience, she soldiers on.

4 thoughts on “What’s Going On, 1/28/2011

  1. SNOW CREEK! I haven’t skied there since middle school. I took a lesson – we learned to ski on flat land – and then they turned us loose. My friends talked me into going up the lift with them afterward and, yeah… not pretty. I didn’t even know how to get off the lift, and then I practically rolled down the hill, I was so terrified.

    And that was my last time skiing.

    1. That’s too bad. It really is a lot of fun once you get the hang of it. If it’s any consolation, many people were rolling down the hill that day, including me when I didn’t take the black diamond sign seriously on my first run.

  2. I am so with you on the “must finish stories before starting new ones…” Eesh. I’m plagued with half-stories right now.

    Which ResAliens antho?

    Oh, and, I’m sorry, but I gotta point this out–you must have had music on the brain. It’s Bryan Davis, not Brian Adams ;).

    Looking forward to the next WW photo!

    1. Hi, Kat!

      Not a ResAliens antho, but one I’m reviewing on behalf of ResAliens. This one is Tenth Orbit and Other Faraway Places, by Gustavo Bondoni.

      Most people don’t know that Bryan Davis is his pen name. 🙂 Good catch, fixed now.

      I just hope I can still fit the WW on the page. Oy.

      Fred

Leave a Reply

