The Mayflower Connection

With Thanksgiving almost upon us, I was pondering the Founders of the feast and remembered an obscure reference to a Warren on the Mayflower, so I looked it up, and sure enough, there he was.

Richard Warren made the crossing alone, and would be joined later by his wife, Elizabeth, and five daughters, who had remained behind in England. He died in 1628, about 50 years old, after eight years helping establish the colony, and he fathered two sons during that time.

New England’s Memorial characterizes him as a “useful Instrument,” which sounds a little wimpy to modern ears, but meant something along the lines of “hard worker of good character.” Elizabeth lived another 45 years after her husband’s death, and had about 75 grandchildren.

Not the Pilgrim I'm talking about.

I don’t know if these Warrens are connected to my branch of the family, which 3 or 4 generations back was composed of German and Swedish farmers living in Minnesota, but family trees are long and tangled, so there’s no telling unless I follow our line back to its European origins. Some years ago, my great aunt traced our heritage to pre-Revolutionary Virginia, and I have some of her notes. Maybe one of these days when I’ve got an excess of both time and money I’ll give it a shot–all the truly useful genealogical information on the Web is locked away behind toll-gates, like any other commodity people actually care about. No matter how my forebears actually got here, I’m very glad and very thankful they did. Good on ya, grandcestors!

Anyhow, my immediate family will celebrate Thanksgiving on Friday this year, as we begin to extend a bit, and celebrations at girlfriends’ and spouses’ homesteads are becoming a factor.  So, best wishes for a joyous Thanksgiving to you all. We’ll be thinking about you fighting those Black Friday crowds as we partake of our turkey and pumpkin pie.

Heh. Sweet.

2 thoughts on “The Mayflower Connection

Leave a Reply

