Blogging Versatile

A few days ago, Justin Williams, a talented writing friend of mine, hit me with the Versatile Blogger Award, which recognizes my ability to blog coherently on a variety of topics (or perhaps my lack of depth in any particular area). Either way, I’m honored that Justin thought of me.

Of course, there’s a catch. The award requires me to fulfill several tasks, as follows:

1. Thank the one who gave me this award.
2. Share seven things about myself.
3. Present this honour (or honor, for us Colonials) onto 15 newly discovered bloggers.
4. Drop by and let my 15 new friends know I love them.

Okay, this is more of a meme than an award, but I like the positive sentiment, and it’s a lot more edifying than a poll that tells everybody I write like Jane Austen. To help keep the pyramid scheme under control, I’m going to follow Justin’s example and only tag a couple of bloggers who consistently post content I find useful, educational, and entertaining.

Here goes:

I’ve already thanked Justin, so that’s done.

Seven things about myself:

1. I used to work in a bakery, so I can bake a mean loaf of bread when I’ve a mind to.

2. My favorite color is red.

3. I have programmed a computer using punch cards. Glad that’s over.

4. I can drive a stick shift, and I prefer to do so.

5. I have been supersonic. It’s not as exciting as it sounds.

6. My wife and I had lunch with Fergie (the Duchess of York, not the female vocalist for the Black Eyed Peas). Okay, it was at Disneyland, it was pure dumb luck, and she was on the opposite side of a large room, surrounded by security, but we had a clear line of sight. Beatrice and Eugenie were really cute.

7. Unlike Indiana Jones, I’m fine with snakes, but I can’t stand spiders.

I hereby forward the Versatile Blogger Award to…

*drumroll*

Rebecca LuElla Miller, who has not one, not two, but three separate blogs about Christianity, writing technique, and speculative fiction. Plus, she manages the CSFF Blog Tour. Now, that’s versatility.

and

Ryan Anderson, an Astronomy grad student specializing in the geology of Mars. He’s posted a ton of cool stuff about astronomy, physics, astrobiology, and Mars geology at The Martian Chronicles and The Science of Starcraft. Good fun, and good for you.

Please visit Rebecca’s and Ryan’s blogs and congratulate them on their versatility!

Leave a Reply

