New Story Online! “Bullies With Big Fat Heads” at Every Day Fiction

Every Day Fiction is my favorite spot on the Net for high-quality flash fiction. They present a new story every day, in a wide variety of genres: sci-fi, fantasy, horror, mystery, romance, straightforward literary fiction–the list goes on. Some stories don’t fall neatly into any category. That’s a lot of variety and sophistication, offered in stories of 1000 words or less. It’s the perfect complement to your morning coffee and croissant.

I had the privilege of visiting the staff of Every Day Fiction in Vancouver B.C. earlier this year for the rollout of their second annual print anthology. They’re a sharp, intelligent crew of young professionals with a passion for the neglected art of short fiction and a vision for bringing these literary gems to today’s audience of tech-savvy, hyper-scheduled multitaskers. I think they have a bright future ahead of them.

Today, I’m honored to have my story, “Bullies With Big Fat Heads,” featured at Every Day Fiction. My wife is a teacher, so conversations about bullying happen quite frequently in our household, and that’s how this story began. I suppose I’ve always seen the bully as a sort of alien creature, something I’m never quite sure whether to hate, fear, pity, or simply avoid.

Anyhow, enjoy. I hope this doesn’t bring back any unpleasant memories.

Leave a Reply

