Reading List, June 2010

I’ve been a little remiss in posting my monthly reading list, not that I expect anybody cares very much, but it’s just one of those things I like to do as part of the whole writer accountability thing. Writers are supposed to read a lot, which should in turn make them better writers, and then more voracious readers, and so on, ad infinitum.

Of course, what I choose to read may invalidate that reader >>> writer connection. I suppose I should be reading Great Books, or stories which Those Who Know Best have anointed Literary Masterpieces Which All Educated People Must Be Able To Discuss Over Cocktails.

As if.

Lately, books have been finding me. The CSFF Blog Tour tosses me one book a month, Christian Speculative Fiction, mostly Young Adult books. These are fun, but after a few iterations, the jaded old geezer in me starts banging on the window with his cane, yelling at me to chase those pesky kids off his lawn.  I’ve also gained a moderate number of writer friends and acquaintances, which inevitably leads to a request to read and review some books. This is also fun, but it carries a certain weight of obligation to read and review the books in a timely manner. There’s also the nagging fear that I might dislike the books or find some serious technical problems in them, so the reviews might not carry the ringing endorsement the friends/acquaintances anticipate.

Most recently, my lovely wife placed a couple of book orders on Amazon, but each time, she fell frustratingly short of the threshold for Free Super Saver Shipping.  “Fred,” she called to me in those dulcet tones reserved for help moving heavy objects or aid in overcoming a computer glitch, “I need to spend five more dollars. Is there a book you want?”

Now, that’s the kind of help I don’t mind giving. I found a novel by one of my favorite authors, Greg Bear, that I’d been meaning to read for years, and an interesting-looking sci-fi anthology.

So, without further ado, here’s my reading list (or, more accurately, my reading queue), for June:

The Duke’s Handmaid, by Caprice Hokstad (coming soon in a new edition from Splashdown Books)

Earthbow, by Sherry Thompson

Darwin’s Radio, by Greg Bear

Shine: An Anthology of Optimistic Science Fiction, edited by Jetse DeVries

I doubt I’ll get through all of these in a month, but you never can tell.

Leave a Reply

