Staying in Touch

In another attempt to redress my continuing failure to notice useful functions of WordPress, I’ve added an e-mail subscription widget to the sidebar. Yet another way to keep tabs on my lunacy, should you wish to do so.

I suppose this might be a good opportunity to review the ways you can connect here without having to click over every day (though that’s good for my site statistics). There are four primary ways to get notified about new stuff on my site:

1. RSS (“Really Simple Syndication”): The little orange button at the upper-right-hand corner of the page. This will subscribe you to the site’s newsfeed. If you use a newsreader program, the newsreader function of your browser, or a site like MyYahoo, which imports newsfeeds to your home page, this is a very convenient, low-clutter way to get updates.

2. E-mail subscription: The new box near the top of the sidebar. You’ll get an e-mail alert when I post something new.

3. Networked Blogs: Near the bottom of the sidebar. This is a Facebook app that can generate a news item on your wall when I post something new, and quickly links you to this page from within Facebook.

4. Facebook/Twitter: I post alerts about new content on Facebook via Twitter, so you can friend/follow me on either of those two services. However, I’ll need to have at least a passing acquaintance with you (face-to-face, e-mail correspondence, some comments on the blog, or the like) to friend on Facebook, and likewise to follow you back on Twitter. If you are a passing acquaintance whom I have snubbed on Facebook or Twitter, please send me a gentle reminder and I’ll un-snub you. Sometimes the wheat gets thrown out with the chaff, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

