Writing Objectives, 2010

Okay, out with the old, in with the new, sort of. I like the structure of last year’s goals, so I’m going to start from there and update them.

Ground Rules:

  1. Keep my priorities in order. The requirements of my spiritual life, family life, and day job have to come first.
  2. Submit quality work. Clean, tight, and worth reading.  I know how it should look.
  3. Have fun. If the writing becomes a grind rather than a creative outlet, throttle back.

Objectives:

  • Sustain. Slightly increase my short-story submissions. With two novels in the works, I need to make this figure more realistic. Goal:  30 submissions to paying markets (includes resubs). This is a little more than an average of two a month, which should be workable while pushing me to keep writing short stories.
  • Reach. Submit to more pro-level publications.  Goal:  10 or more submissions. I think this is still about right, I just need to hold myself to it.
  • Broaden. Write some non-genre material.  Goal:  Write and submit 5 or more non-genre short stories. Again, the goal is fine, but I need to make it a priority and be disciplined about pursuing it. I’ll add to this reading at least two literary ‘zines per month.
  • Network. Attend a writer’s conference this year and make some new contacts.  Goals:  2 conferences, at least 10 new writing contacts outside the local area and 5 in the local area. Had no trouble with this last year, so I’m raising the bar.
  • Stretch. Try something that exceeds my expectations.  Goals:  Continue marketing The Muse and help my publisher get past break-even on costs. Finish both novels under construction and begin shopping them around. Finish NaNoWriMo this year. Surprised myself last year, so I’ll continue to aim high this year.
  • Study. Improve my writing skills.  Goal:  Learn 5 new things about the craft of writing this year, and apply them. To this, I’ll add take a writing course of some kind this year.
  • Read. Maintain a habit of reading consistently.  Goal:  1 book a month, with variety. This pace is about right for my lifestyle.

Ready, set, go!
add to del.icio.usAdd to BlinkslistDigg itStumble It!

Leave a Reply

