Christmas Notes, Part Trois

“I can’t believe you hate Home for the Holidays!”

Okay, after my two-day rant on secular Christmas music, my daughter told me I must have been Dr. Seuss’ inspiration for the Grinch. That hurts on multiple levels, so I’m going to attempt to balance things out with a list of non-religious Christmas songs I do like, just so long as I don’t have to listen to them on heavy rotation. In no particular order:

The Chipmunk Christmas Song – It’s hard not to smile at this one, no matter how Grinchy I feel.

Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer – As performed by Burl Ives in the Rankin-Bass stop-motion animated feature of the same name. I like pretty much the entire soundtrack from that show.

Christmastime is Here – From “A Charlie Brown Christmas.” Vince Guaraldi’s music is the perfect backdrop for tree-trimming.

Winter Wonderland – Everybody who’s anybody has done this one, but I favor the Karen Carpenter version. Apologies for the schmaltzy Christmas special production linked here.

White Christmas – As performed by Bing Crosby, and featured in the classic movie musical of the same name. Nobody sings it like Bing.

and finally, Welcome Christmas, from “How the Grinch Stole Christmas,” another animated Christmas special with a great soundtrack. A song even Garrison Keillor and the Unitarians could sing together.

All right, enough about Christmas music. Pass the roast beast.

add to del.icio.usAdd to BlinkslistDigg itStumble It!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Notes, Part Trois

Leave a Reply

