November CSFF Blog Tour Day 1: Curse of the Spider King, by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper

Curse of the Spider KingAnother month, another CSFF Blog Tour. This month’s feature is Curse of the Spider King, coauthored by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper.

Spiders…ick. I hate spiders. I hate ’em! As Indiana Jones is to snakes, I am to spiders.

Spiders…why’d it have to be spiders?

However, I have enjoyed this book. I’ve not quite finished it yet, so I’ll provide a brief synopsis today, and more of a review tomorrow, if I’m done by then. If not, I’ll take a look at the various websites for the authors and the book, with a review on Day 3.

Curse of the Spider King introduces us to seven orphans living the hard-knock life (hey, it’s tough just being a tween, even under normal circumstances) in a variety of communities around the world. Some have it better than others, some of them don’t even know they are orphans, but all are facing a rocky adolescence, and not just the usual issues with bullies and bad grades. Alien forces seem to be taking over their bodies, with bursts of super strength and speed, weird premonitions, and enhanced abilities in marksmanship and music. Worse, some of the adults in their lives–librarians, gym teachers, even custodians–are manifesting a bizarre new side to their personalities, and engaging in combat with mysterious cloaked figures that seem to be following the orphans’ every move.

Then, there are the books. Each of the orphans is given a mysterious book that seems to warp the fabric of reality when they read it, plunging them into a three-dimensional retelling of the strange history inside.

Elsewhere, elsewhen, the kingdom of Berinfell is betrayed from within and overrun by the forces of the malevolent Spider King. A small remnant escapes to safety, but the only hope of regaining their lost home and driving away the enemy lies with the infant heirs of the slain Seven Lords.

I’m thinking there might be a connection here somewhere.

In Curse of the Spider King, Batson and Hopper have set the stage for an epic struggle of good versus evil that spans two worlds and multiple volumes. More details (I hope) tomorrow, but in the meantime, please follow the gossamer threads woven by the other contributors to this month’s Tour:

Wayne Thomas Batson’s blog – http://enterthedoorwithin.blogspot.com/
Christopher Hopper’s Web site – http://www.christopherhopper.com/
The Berinfell Prophecies Web site – http://www.heedtheprophecies.com/

Brandon Barr

Justin Boyer

Amy Browning

Valerie Comer

Amy Cruson

CSFF Blog Tour

Stacey Dale

D. G. D. Davidson

Shane Deal

Jeff Draper

Emmalyn Edwards

April Erwin

Karina Fabian

Todd Michael Greene

Ryan Heart

Timothy Hicks

Becky Jesse

Cris Jesse

Jason Joyner

Julie

Carol Keen

Krystine Kercher

Tina Kulesa

Melissa Lockcuff

Rebecca LuElla Miller

Mirtika

Nissa

John W. Otte

Donita K. Paul

Cara Powers

Chawna Schroeder

James Somers

Speculative Faith

Robert Treskillard

Jason Waguespac

Phyllis Wheeler

Jill Williamson

KM Wilsher

>>This review is based upon a copy of the book provided to me free of charge by the publisher, a courtesy I appreciate, but which does not guarantee my recommendation. I strive to evaluate every book I review purely on its intrinsic merits.<<

4 thoughts on “November CSFF Blog Tour Day 1: Curse of the Spider King, by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper

    1. Hi, Wayne! Thanks for dropping by. These blog tours are always so much better when the authors jump in and mix it up with our motley crew.

      I’m glad I sound trustworthy. By the way, I’ve got this nice little investment property in the Caymans, and I was wondering…just kidding. 🙂

      Anyhow, I do like the book, and I think it’s cool that you and Christopher Hopper have pulled off such a nice collaborative project. I look forward to seeing the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

