Another Story Online! “Of All Things, Seen and Unseen,” at Residential Aliens

Wow, two stories published in the same week–that’s a first for me. This story, “Of All Things, Seen and Unseen,” is a tale of faith and adventure set in the Rescue Sisters Universe created by Robert and Karina Fabian in their anthologies, Infinite Space, Infinite God, and Leaps of Faith. My story was inspired by their work and inhabits their universe with their permission.

Sister Claudia is a young member of a future order of Catholic nuns who provide search and rescue services to space workers and travelers throughout our solar system’s asteroid belt. A mishap during a seemingly routine rescue mission plunges Claudia into a crisis of faith, Has she failed in her mission and lost her calling, or does God have other plans?

“I’ve wanted to be a Rescue Sister since I was a little girl. I don’t know any other life, and I love it. It’s my true vocation.”

“You’ve served the Order with distinction for three full years. You’ve helped save many lives. Now you must consider whether God might have a different vocation prepared for you, but you certainly don’t have to leave the Sisterhood.”

“But I won’t be a Rescue Sister,” Claudia murmured. “I’ll be the person who used to be a Rescue Sister, until she made a stupid mistake, and God punished her for her arrogance.”

Mother Superior rose from her chair and laid her hands gently on Claudia’s shoulders. “You must seek God’s guidance, Claudia. Let me pray with you.”

Claudia shrugged off the touch. “I don’t know if I can pray anymore, or if God will listen if I do. I’m sorry, Mother, I just can’t. I’m sorry. I’m so sorry.”

Check it out at Residential Aliens online magazine. My other story published this week, “One Smile at a Time,” continues at MindFlights.

2 thoughts on “Another Story Online! “Of All Things, Seen and Unseen,” at Residential Aliens

  1. Thanks for the story, “One Smile at a Time”. I really enjoyed it partly because it reminded me of my Grandmother. She was determined to smile at each person she passed, and loved her neighbors with this simple act wherever she went. There is something amazing in the power of a smile.

Leave a Reply

