Where Will Hugo?

So, if I’m correctly interpreting the results of the John W. Campbell Best New Writer Award at tonight’s Hugos, the wave of the future is epic historical novels set in fantasy worlds.

Don’t get me wrong–all the nominees, including the winner, were talented and deserving (though I admit I was rooting for Aliette de Bodard), but awards like this send a message to the wider world, and this particular message tells me that the speculative fiction genre is still grasping for literary gravitas and respect. It seems a bit disingenuous to give the Best New Writer Award to an author who has several acclaimed literary novels under his belt already and is “new” only in the sense that he is new to the genre.

And that’s all I’m going to say about that. I’ve got to start my reimagining of the Spanish-American War in space, and there’s no time to lose.

Leave a Reply

