July Banner Photo

In honor of the “Boys of Summer,” this month’s banner features Walter “Big Train” Johnson, pitcher for the Washington Senators from 1907 to 1927, and the foremost power pitcher of his era. This quote from Ty Cobb says it all:

“…The first time I faced him, I watched him take that easy windup. And then something went past me that made me flinch. The thing just hissed with danger. We couldn’t touch him… every one of us knew we’d met the most powerful arm ever turned loose in a ball park.”

The statue in the photo is on display at Nationals Park, home of the Washington (D.C.) Nationals. More shots of the park, plus a host of outstanding photos of the D.C. area, are posted at wallyg’s flickr site.

This train, like all the others featured on this site, runs on subjective time, and makes you look like a fool doing it.

“…The first time I faced him, I watched him take that easy windup. And then something went past me that made me flinch. The thing just hissed with danger. We couldn’t touch him… every one of us knew we’d met the most powerful arm ever turned loose in a ball park.” y
Leave a Reply

