Scribbler’s Scoreboard, June ’09

June’s promise dissolved into the heat of summer…I picked up an extra tasking at work, and my family schedule was hectic. I failed to make it halfway through Midsummer Madness at Liberty Hall, and what writing I did get done had mostly non-quantifiable benefits. I put out an assortment of book reviews, almost finished what I think is a pretty good story that is probably unpublishable because it falls too close to fan-fiction, and adapted one of my published short stories, “A Taste of Honey,” into a kinetic novel version with pictures and music that I’ll probably be tweaking for a couple more months.

On top of all that, responses on stories I’ve sent out the past few months have been slow. Very slow. Molasses in January slow.

On the plus side, and a pretty nice plus, “A Quiet Afternoon at the Alabaster County Ladies’ Sewing Circle and Patchwork Society” appeared today in Residential Aliens. “One Smile at a Time” should be appearing in Mindflights any day now.

I also managed to finish my revisions on The Muse, which I’ll be sending back to my publisher later this week.

The June Scoreboard:

2 June: “Prison Dreams” submitted to Niteblade.

29 June: “A Quiet Afternoon at the Alabaster County Ladies’ Sewing Circle and Patchwork Society” published in Residential Aliens.

Still awaiting responses from  Three-Lobed Burning Eye for “Come You Back to Mandalay,” Atomjack for “An Eternal, Unbroken Chain,” and A Fly in Amber for “Insubstantiation.”

Leave a Reply

