Scribbler’s Scoreboard, May ’09

May was very, very busy. Work and personal life issues mostly trumped writing this month, but I still found some time to do a little re-writing and submitting. Still in a bit of a slump, but the trend is upward. Had one story sale and a few rejections. I’ll put my rally cap on next month. 

I also finished the first draft of a short story based on Robert and Karina Fabian’s Sisters of Our Lady of the Rescue universe (many thanks to the Fabians for letting me muck around in their corner of space), which I’m pretty excited about, but I still need to tweak it a little before it’s ready for prime-time.

Work trip coming up in June, which usually provides good opportunities for both reading and writing when I’m off-shift. I plan to spend a lot of that time finishing work on The Muse, so we can stay on track for a late-November/early-December release.

The May Scoreboard:

1 May:  “A Quiet Afternoon at the Alabaster County Ladies’ Sewing Circle and Patchwork Society” submitted to Residential Aliens.

6 May: 5-day acceptance from Residential Aliens for “A Quiet Afternoon at the Alabaster County Ladies’ Sewing Circle and Patchwork Society.” Should appear sometime in late June/early July.

9 May: 101-day rejection from Escape Clause for “At My Table.”

11 May: 73-day rejection from Every Day Fiction for “A charl13brn Turing Test.”

20 May: 45-day rejection from flashquake for “Insubstantiation.”

24 May: “Insubstantiation” submitted to A Fly in Amber.

Still awaiting responses from Doorways Magazine for “Prison Dreams,” Three-Lobed Burning Eye for “Come You Back to Mandalay,” and Atomjack for “An Eternal, Unbroken Chain.”

“One Smile at a Time” will appear in Mindflights soon, expect early June, date to be announced.

“The Silver Tree” is scheduled for publication in Kaleidotrope, Dec 2009/Jan 2010.

Links to all my stories online or in print and to the fine publications hosting them are listed on my Publications page.

2 thoughts on “Scribbler’s Scoreboard, May ’09

  1. Congrats on getting “A Quiet Afternoon…” accepted. I remember that one from the LH flash 😀

    I was also a casualty of the Escape Clause rejections this month; I wonder what sort of thing they did accept?

    You seem to be making a fair few sales here and there. Keep it up! 😉

  2. Thanks, Rob. Sometimes it feels like playing a slot machine…I pull the handle and never know whether it’s going to pay off, even if the guidelines are clear. I’ve got to be careful to keep my expectations realistic. I’ve felt really frustrated the last couple of months, and have rushed out a couple of pieces that needed a little more work, so I’m trying to be more patient now.

Leave a Reply

