Synchronicity

I got a rejection notice for one of my stories yesterday.

This, in and of itself, wasn’t unusual.  About 70% of my submissions to date have been rejected for one reason or another.  The interesting thing was one of the feedback comments.  A reviewer thought I used too many adverbs.

Stay with me…I’m not complaining about the critique.  The reviewer was right.  The weird part is, one, nobody’s ever hit me for using too many adverbs before, and two, earlier that day, I was perusing writing books at the local mall, and every one I picked up had at least one chapter devoted to the nauseating horror of adverbs.

This is my latest experience with something called synchronicity, which Wikipedia describes as “…the experience of two or more events which are causally unrelated occurring together in a supposedly meaningful manner. In order to count as synchronicity, the events should be unlikely to occur together by chance.” It usually happens to me when I encounter a word I’ve never seen or heard before, then I spend the next two weeks tripping over it everywhere I go.

So, maybe Somebody is trying to tell me that I need to check all my stories for excessive adverb use right now, or maybe it’s just a wacky coincidence. Anyhow, I won’t be singing the Lolly Company Adverb Song again any time soon.

2 thoughts on “Synchronicity

  1. Ooo, I had never even thought about checking for adverb excess. How wonderful to get such constructive feedback, even if it was part of a rejection. At least you’re sending stuff out, I haven’t gotten that far myself.

Leave a Reply

