Good News, Bad News, Good News

After the nice feeling from seeing “For Fashion’s Sake” go up at Every Day Fiction, I got a reject notice from another magazine last night for one of my other stories.  Bummer, but the reject indicated they liked the story.   It just wasn’t a good fit with the other stories they were planning for their upcoming issues.  Bad timing happens, or maybe it just wasn’t the right home for this story.  Regroup, resubmit, press on.

As I was preparing to launch the rejected story at another market, I received a letter from the editor of Kaleidotrope, accepting another story, “The Silver Tree,” for publication sometime around the end of this year or early next year (Kaleidotrope is a biannual print magazine, and each issue is loaded with an eclectic blend of fiction, poetry and art–great value!).  So, the emotional rollercoaster once again climbs upward.

There are definitely a lot of highs and lows in this writing game, and it’s way too easy to sink into a blue funk when things aren’t selling or burst my hat band when they are.  My true goal is to write good stories, and if I can stay focused on that, I think I’ll be okay.  Paraphrasing Rudyard Kipling, triumph and disaster are both imposters, and the real prize is strength of character.

But selling a story is still really fun.

Leave a Reply

