January CSFF Blog Tour Day 2: The Book of Names

Having offered my review of The Book of Names on Day 1 of the blog tour, today I think I’ll make a few random observations about things related to the book that caught my interest.

1. Truth is Stranger than Fiction. I can usually draw a few parallels to my own life from any given story, but I didn’t have to look far this time.  The story’s set-up read like a synopsis of my own teen years.  I lost my mother to cancer when I was 14, and soon after, we moved across the state to what seemed to me the most desolate place on Earth.  Hadyn and Ewan’s struggle to come to terms with their loss and their isolation in a new town brought back a lot of memories.

2. The Name Game. Briggs seems to have had a lot of fun naming people and places in his world, and the names are often symbolic or allegorical.  See how many you can find.

3. “You’re a Heretic!”  “No, You Are!” The color-coded Abbeys experience ecumenical tensions similar to those found in our world.  The White Abbey maintains a legalistic focus on the Book of Names and its associated doctrinal writings.  The mystical Black Abbey concentrates on spirituality evidenced by physical manifestations of power.  The pragmatic Grey Abbey strives for simplicity and harmony in day-to-day living.  Each faction doubts the orthodoxy of the other two.

4. Grins. Two laugh-out-loud moments for me. Hadyn and Ewan are introduced as hailing from the New Land of Misery, and a boastful bard with a talent for swordplay carries a cursed sword that is poetic justice itself.

5. Cool Website. Mr. Briggs has a website for the book that showcases a lot of interesting background info and a few multimedia goodies.  Check it out.

Tomorrow, I’ll take a look at some comments about The Book of Names from my colleagues on the CSFF Blog Tour.

For more commentary on The Book of Names, please visit these other fine stops on the CSFF Blog Tour:

Sally Apokedak
Brandon Barr
Keanan Brand
Rachel Briard
Valerie Comer
Melissa Carswell
Frank Creed
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Shane Deal
Jeff Draper
April Erwin
Karina Fabian
Andrea Graham
Todd Michael Greene
Timothy Hicks
Joleen Howell
Jason Isbell
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Magma
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Mirtika
Eve Nielsen
Nissa
John W. Otte
Steve Rice
Crista Richey
Alice M. Roelke
Chawna Schroeder
James Somers
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Speculative Faith
Jason Waguespac
Phyllis Wheeler
Jill Williamson
Timothy Wise

>>This review is based upon a copy of the book provided to me free of charge by the publisher, a courtesy I appreciate, but which does not guarantee my recommendation. I strive to evaluate every book I review purely on its intrinsic merits.<<

2 thoughts on “January CSFF Blog Tour Day 2: The Book of Names

Leave a Reply

