Snow Day

Snowy and blowy today, and the roads are a skating rink in town, especially at intersections.  These are the days when the four-wheel-drive pays for itself.

I finished my draft review of The Book of Names last night, so it’s ready to go for Monday, subject to a little last-minute tweaking.  This is the first time I’ve written a book review for public consumption outside the classroom, and the hardest part was finding the proper balance.  I wanted to provide a synopsis of the story without turning it into a spoiler-fest for anyone who hasn’t read it, and I also wanted to identify some strengths and weaknesses without veering into rampant cheerleading or mean-spirited nitpicking.  It was a good exercise.  I’ll often read a piece of fiction and finish with some vague sense of approval or dislike, moving on to the next story without really thinking critically about my gut reaction.  The setup of this blog tour is nice, because it gives me three days to ponder the book from a variety of angles.

Leave a Reply

