NaNoWriMo 08 – Victory!

nano_08_winner_viking_100x100

I finished my National Novel Writing Month story yesterday–clocked in with about 50100 words after 24 days.  It was very satisfying to set an ambitious writing goal like this and accomplish it.  Significant outcomes:

1. I proved to myself that I can write a coherent story longer than 5000 words.

2. I finished four days ahead of my schedule (and six days ahead of the NaNoWriMo deadline), demonstrating that writing at a 2000 word/day pace is do-able within the constraints of my work schedule and family life.

3. I learned the power of simple persistence in writing and discovered I’ve been wasting an enormous amount of time by self-editing as I write.

My daily diary for NaNo is on a separate page of this blog, under the NaNoWriMo 2008 tab.  I’ll be posting a more detailed after-action report there once I’ve finished mentally processing this experience.

Leave a Reply

