RSS

October CSFF Blog Tour Day 1: The Bone House, by Stephen R. Lawhead

24 Oct

I’ve mentioned in past tours that Thomas Nelson is a class act. When I requested an electronic review copy of this week’s feature, Stephen R. Lawhead’s The Bone House, they cheerfully provided it, then asked, just in passing, if I’d yet read the first book in the Bright Empires series, The Skin Map.

I confessed I had not, though our previous tour of that book, which I wasn’t able to read and review myself, had given me a passing familiarity with its synopsis.

“Oh,” Ms. Dean, the publicist, replied, “you really ought to read The Skin Map first. How about I send you a copy of that? We don’t have it available in e-book on NetGalley yet, but I can send you a paperback copy.”

Very well. If you insist. Twist my arm.

Which makes this Tour a little more difficult. Though I never feel obligated to provide a happy, shiny review of a book simply by merit of having received a free review copy, I do feel obligated to return the publisher’s courtesy and finish The Skin Map before reviewing The Bone House.

I am enjoying The Skin Map, a fun romp across time, space, and multiple alternate realities via Britain’s legendary ley lines. It has a similar flavor to an under-rated science fiction film I enjoyed some years ago, Biggles: Adventures in Time, itself based on a series of children’s books by Captain W.E. Johns. I’m hopeful I’ll be able to chew through both books in the next three days, which may cost me a little sleep, but I have a feeling it’ll be well worth it.

In the meantime, please visit the other fine sites on this month’s CSFF Blog Tour:

Noah Arsenault
Red Bissell
Thomas Clayton Booher
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
CSFF Blog Tour
Jeff Chapman
Carol Bruce Collett
Karri Compton
D. G. D. Davidson
Theresa Dunlap
April Erwin
Victor Gentile
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Timothy Hicks
Christopher Hopper
Janeen Ippolito
Becca Johnson
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Marzabeth
Katie McCurdy
Shannon McDermott
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Joan Nienhuis
Chawna Schroeder
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Rachel Starr Thomson
Robert Treskillard
Steve Trower
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Rachel Wyant

Stephen R. Lawhead’s Author Website

Purchase The Bone House

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in Book Reviews, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “October CSFF Blog Tour Day 1: The Bone House, by Stephen R. Lawhead

  1. Timothy Hicks

    October 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Nice review. The Bright Empires series does remind me a bit of Biggles: Adventure in Time. That movie was great. i kept waiting for a sequel, but did find the movie on Amazon. I’m glad The Skin map has a sequel in The Bone House. At least readers can enjoy more of Kit and Mina’s adventures through time.

    Tim

     
    • Fred Warren

      October 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      Thanks, TIm. As I understand it, there will be five books in the series, so lots more adventures to come.

       
  2. Robert Treskillard

    October 25, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    That is great that they sent you The Skin Map, too … wow!

     
    • Fred Warren

      October 25, 2011 at 8:46 pm

      It was very nice of them, and I’m glad they did. This isn’t a series I’d want to jump into other than at the very beginning.

       
  3. Shannon McDermott

    October 25, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    You shouldn’t let those publicists push you around like that, Fred.

    I opted for a hard copy of the book, and when I received it in the mail it had a letter tucked inside. I, too, was offered a copy of The Skin Map. It pained me, because though I had read the book and couldn’t accept, I didn’t own it and wanted to.

    Are you getting through the books fast? I enjoyed them, but I preferred reading them at a slower pace than usual. Until the end of The Bone House, anyway.

     
    • Fred Warren

      October 26, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      Well, I was ripping through them until yesterday, when I left my copy of The Skin Map at work (40 miles away) and had to stay home today to get my daughter to a college interview. I figure I’ll still get through both of them by the weekend. If I didn’t have a backload of other books to review, I’d probably take a little more time with these too.

       
  4. Carol

    October 26, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    TN sent me an electronic copy (as I requested) and a print copy. I had already bought The Skin Map in prep for this tour as I had not read it, but they offered me that book as well. Seems they want to get/keep the buzz going about this series. I can understand why. I’m certainly hooked!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 240 other followers

